Sundry Updates: Ms. Magazine Roundtable & Allen Ginsberg Marathon

Remember that Ms. Magazine roundtable on trans feminism?  It happened!  It’s posted!  A million thanks to Avital Norman Nathman for making this happen (and for taking on fellow cis feminists in comments sections when they started in with the TERF stuff).

Part 1 – introductions

Part 2 – cis dominance of the feminist movement

Part 3 – how cis feminists can be allies to trans feminists

This thing was such an honor to be part of, and such a BLAST too.  I learned a lot.  I want to say one thing, which is that I’m currently in flux about whether or not men should claim the term “feminist.”  Right now, I’m “a queer femme guy who is trying to be an ally to trans feminists,” or more simply, “a no wave femmeinist.”  That’s not something I was thinking hard enough about at the time of the roundtable, but my thoughts on it have evolved.

 

Sundry updates, part 2, the revenge of the update:  I’m currently interning at SPLAB in Seattle, a center for poetry and spoken word.  We just had an event, the Allen Ginsberg Marathon, where we read poems until dawn in honor of the great man’s birthday.  I read, and got to hear fabulous performers like the Band of Poets, Mickey O’Connor, and my current boss, Paul E. Nelson.  Here is VISUAL DAGUERREOTYPE DOCUMENTATION

 

That’s me with Paul, who I mentioned before, and Melet, the cellist of Band of Poets.  (They are a band who are all poets.)

6 Responses to “Sundry Updates: Ms. Magazine Roundtable & Allen Ginsberg Marathon”


  1. 1 Patent Attorney June 7, 2012 at 11:07 am

    I think everyone should be a feminist, regardless of sex or gender – right? It means, after all, that everyone should have the same rights!

  2. 2 Rattie June 7, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    Just look at your fine self! Love the shirt.

    What Ginsberg did you read? (I actually think I have you to thank for introducing me to “Song”, which, just, wow.)

  3. 4 Jaye June 18, 2012 at 8:43 am

    Why the Hitler haircut?

  4. 6 Sophie Martin June 29, 2012 at 3:23 am

    So happy that went so well!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

